Sacred Heart

Catholic Primary

'Live, Love and Learn Joyfully in the Family of Christ'

Religious Education


Content of the Religious Education Curriculum

The taught curriculum is derived from the Curriculum Directory for Catholic Schools (a mandatory requirement of the Bishops’ Conference of England and Wales). The Curriculum Directory builds knowledge and understanding at an age appropriate level about faith from the following broad areas:

• Revelation (scripture & history);

• Church;

• Celebration (sacraments, liturgy & prayer); and

• Life in Christ (the challenges and joys of living a Christian life).


The scheme used to deliver the content of the Curriculum Directory is ‘The Way, The Truth and the Life’. There is a whole school approach to using the scheme. Christ is at the heart of the programme. It is centred on Jesus who said that He came that, ‘we might have life and have it to the full.’ The children are helped to understand all that He means to us and how we live as his followers. The resources in the school are continually up-dated and extended.


EYFS and Key Stage 1



Key Stage 2


Autumn 1

Autumn 2

Spring 1

Spring 2

Summer 1

Summer 2

Year 3

The Christian Church

Mary mother of God

called to change



Being a Christian

Year 4

The Bible

Trust in God

Jesus the teacher

Jesus the Saviour

The mission of the church

Belonging to the Church

Year 5


God’s Covenants

Inspirational people


Life in the Risen Christ

Other Faiths

Year 6

The Kingdom of God


Jesus the Bread of Life

Jesus the Son of God

The work of the Apostles

Called to serve

Other Faiths 

Where possible visits to places of worship from a range of world faiths enhance the learning about people of faith in society. Judaism is the starting point for a study of faiths outside of the Christian tradition, using Jesus as a Jew as the context. As the children become older, they increasingly exposed to the concept that Christianity is wider than Catholicism; that all Christians are not Catholic; and that not all people live their lives according to a faith.



(festivals and celebrations of other faiths)

Year 1



Year 2


Year 3


Year 4



Year 5



Year 6




Three attainment targets were introduced with the New Standards in RE Document in December 2018. The Bishops of England and Wales have given schools the authority to make use of this new framework when teaching RE should they wish to whilst we await the updating of the Curriculum Directory. The three attainment targets will become the bedrock of our ‘no levels’ assessment system.


The attainment targets are as follows:

Attainment Target 1: Knowledge and Understanding (‘learning about religion’)

• Developing knowledge and understanding

• Making links and connections

• Understanding historical development

• Using specialist vocabulary


Attainment Target 2: Engagement and Response (‘learning from religion’)

• Engaging with questions of meaning and purpose

• Engaging with questions of beliefs and values


Attainment Target 3: Analysis and Evaluation (‘RE skills’)

• Using sources as evidence

• Constructing arguments

• Making judgements, justifying conclusions

• Recognising diversity

• Analysis and deconstruction


RE is not taught in isolation, but as a subject that underpins our daily actions. A rhythm of prayer throughout the school day and the development of a rich tapestry of Catholic Life underpins the RE curriculum at every stage.

The RE curriculum, rigorous in its approach and its development of theological learning, is planned in a creative manner, enabling all pupils to explore faith and experience a deepening relationship with God.